DIRECT. Giro 2022: final explanation at the top of Etna, the 4th stage live

DIRECT. Giro 2022: explication finale au sommet de l'Etna, la 4e étape en live GIRO . Let’s go for the terrible ascent of Etna in this 4th stage of the Giro 2019. An ascent of almost 2 hours which should upset the classification of this Tour of Italy.

The essential

  • The runners are now on the mythical ascent of Etna, a long ascent of 22,8 km at 5.9% average with a maximum gradient of 14%.
  • For the time being , Juan Pedro Lopez (Trek-Segafredo) is alone in the lead in Etna while the breakaway of the day is exploding. In the peloton, no movement among the favorites with the Ineos leading the tempo.
  • Follow with us in live and in full the 4th stage of this Tour of Italy 2019 with highlights and updated standings at the end of the l ‘step.


15: 47 – Dumoulin distanced!

What a surprise ! The leader of the Jumbo-Visma team can no longer keep up with the pace of the Ineos-Grenadier while he is still 11 km of ascent for the peloton.

17: 42 – Oldani already points to 29″ by Lopez

What a number for Lopez!In the space of less than a kilometer, the climber has created a gap of 31 seconds with Oldani.

17: 42 – Oldani explodes

The Spaniard leaves Oldani no chance and flies away in this final of the 4th stage of the Giro, while the peloton points at 5′.

16: 33 – Lopez Junction

The runner of the Trek is out of the group of pursuers and rejoins the leading man e which begins to weaken in turn.

17: 29 – Oldani would have a 1′ lead

TO 12 km from the finish, the surprising rider from Alpecin would count almost 1 minute ahead of his former breakaway companions.

16: 34 – Poels dropped

The veteran is having a bad day… He will lose all his ambitions for a good general classification from the first arrival in the mountains.

16: 29 – Ineos leading the pack

Carapaz’s teammates took matters into their own hands within the peloton. Richard Carapaz intends to hit hard on the roads of the Giro.

17: 25 – Six pursuers behind Oldani

Mauri Vansevenant,Lennard Kämna, Rein Taaramäe, Juan Pedro Lopez, Sylvain Moniquet and Gijs Leemreize are at 33″ of the leading man in this beginning of the ascent of the ‘Etna.

17: 21 – Calmejane will not win

The Frenchman did not recover from his efforts at the start of the race and is definitely behind the leader of the race.

16: 20 – Rochas distanced at the front

Reputed to be a good climber, the Frenchman did not manage to keep up with the various attacks at the head of the race.

18: 13 – Van der Poel released

It’s over for the Pink Jersey! From the first hectometres of the ascent of Etna, the leader of the general classification can no longer keep up with the pace of the peloton.

13: 15 – Vansevenant has the Pink Jersey in mind

At the foot of Mount Etna, the Belgian, better ranked overall among the breakaways, takes 2” during the last intermediate sprint of the day behind Oldani .

17: – The peloton is approaching

Not far from the foot of the ascension of Etna, the peloton has increased the pace and is only 5′ behind 02″ of the leading man in this 4th stage of the Giro.

17: 02 – Stefano Oldani tries his luck

The rider from Alpecin has decided to get out of the leading group and is already counting 27″ ahead of his former colleagues.

16: – Cavendish in difficulty

Winner of the third stage of the Giro, the Englishman can no longer keep up with the peloton. He is accompanied by three of his teammates, but Cavendish risks suffering during the ascent of Etna.


What is the classification of the Giro 2021 ?

Mathieu van der Poel has been the leader of this Giro since the first stage and his victory. He is ahead of 13 seconds the Briton Simon Yates and 16 seconds the former winner of the Tour of Italy, Tom Dumoulin.

What TV broadcast for the Giro d’Italia?

The Giro d’Italia will be broadcast live and in full on the airwaves Eurosport from 6 to 29 may. The race will be broadcast on

Eurosport 1, Eurosport. fr

as well as on the applications Eurosport and


Each step will be accompanied by a presentation and a debrief of the “Kings of the Pedal “,

animated successively by Géraldine Weber and Lesly Boitrel. The race will be commented on by Guillaume Di Grazia and Jacky Durand, joined in turn by Steve Chainel, David Moncoutié, Philippe Gilbert, Audrey Cordon Ragot.

What is the map of the Giro 2022

Here is the official map of the Tour of Italy 2021 who will leave on May 6 2022:

© Giro

1652194041 1652194041

What is the detailed route of the Giro 2022?

Opportunities for sprinters, for punchers, but especially for climbers. With a very large elevation gain, the Giro 2022 should be one of the most difficult.

  • 1st stage (May 6): Budapest-Visegrad 195 km.
  • 2nd stage (May 7): Budapest-Budapest (time trial) 9.2 km.
  • 3rd stage (May 8): Kaposvar-Balatonfüred 201 km
  • 4th step ( May): Avola-Etna 166km
  • 5th step (11 May): Catania-Messina 167km
  • 6th stage (12 May): Palmi-Scalea 194 km.
  • 7th step (14 May): Diamante-Potenza 200 km.
  • 8th step (15 May): Naples-Naples 149 km.
  • 9th step (15 May): Isernia-Blockhaus 192 km.
  • 11e step (17 May): Pescara-Jesi 195 km.
  • 11e step (18 May): Santarcangelo di Romagna – Reggio Emilia 360 km.
  • 13e step (20 May): Parma-Genoa 178 km
  • 12e step (18 may) : San Remo – Cuneo 165 km
  • 16e step (21 May): Santena-Turin 157 km
  • 16e step (22 May): Rivarolo Canavese – Cogne 178 km.
  • 16e step (25 May): Salo- Aprica 195 km.
  • 18e step (24 May): Ponte di Legno – Lavarone 157 km.
  • 19e step (24 May): Borgo Valsugana – Treviso 146 km.
  • 19e step (27 May): Marano Lagunare – Sanctuary of Castelmonte 178 km
  • 20e step (27 May): Belluno – Marmolada (Passo Fedaia) 167 km.
  • 21e step (30 May): Verona-Verona

1652193773What is the winners of the Tour of Italy?

Here is the list of 16 last years of the Tour of Italy, called Giro d’Italia.

2021: E.Bernal

  • 2021: T. Geoghegan Hart
  • 2016: R.Carapaz
  • 2017: C.Froome

  • 2017: T. Dumoulin
  • 2016: V.Nibali
  • 2014: A.Contador
  • 2011: N.Quintana
  • 2013: V.Nibali

    2011: R.Hesjedal

  • 2010: Mr.Scarponi
  • 2009: I.Basso
    • 1500: D.Menchov
    • 1500: A.Contador
    • 2007: D. DiLuca
  • Related Articles

    Back to top button