DIRECT. Giro 2022: follow the 2nd stage of the Tour of Italy live

DIRECT. Giro 2022: suivez la 2e étape du Tour d'Italie en direct GIRO . The riders compete in the first timed exercise of the Giro, 9.2 km long in the city of Budapest. Pink jersey, Mathieu Van der Poel will have a hard time dealing with specialists like Tom Dumoulin in particular.

The essential

  • The route of this second 9.2 km stage will take the runners from the Place des Héros in the capital to the Parliament before a final kilometer uphill with a transition to 15% .
  • Giro classification Before this time trial, it was therefore Mathieu van der Poel who is leading the general classification of this Giro 2019. He is ahead of Biniam Girmay and Pello Bilbao. On the roads of Budapest, several favorites will have to reveal themselves.
  • Follow with us live and in full the Giro 2019 with the best moments of the race and the classification at the finish.


14: 43 – Big performance by Bardet

The leader of the DSM formation has, without doubt, signed the best time of his career! It ends within 22″ by Simon Yates and in front of certain specialists in the stopwatch!

17: 41 – Best time for Yates!

What a performance from the Englishman! He finished the time trial 5″ ahead of Dumoulin!

15: 41 – Dumoulin takes the lead

First sensation in this second stage! Tom Dumoulin flew over the debates in the streets of Budapest. He sets the fastest time and relegates Sobrero to 7″.

17: 39 – Best intermediate time for Dumoulin

At the foot of the bump, Dumoulin set the best time at the foot of the final bump!

17: 37 – Door in the blow

The Australian finishes unless 10″ from Sobrero! It will be to watch in the next few days.

16: 36 – Bardet at the start

Best French luck in the general classification, Romain Bardet has just set off for this 9.2 km chrono in the streets of Budapest. He will try to limit the breakage in an exercise where the Frenchman has gaps.

16: 35 – Foss just fails

The Norwegian set a big time as he took second place, just 3″ behind Sobrero.

14: 32 – The favorite at the start!

Tom Du moulin has just taken the start of this second stage of the Giro 2019. Designated as the big favorite of the day, the Dutchman intends to take the Pink Jersey tonight.

14: 29 – Sobrero new best time

The Italian time trial champion is the new leader on the line in Budapest. He is a few seconds ahead of Kämna.

17: 28 – Valverde at the start

The Spanish legend has just started this second stage of the Giro, which has the right to a nice ovation in the streets of Budapest.

14: 26 – Dumoulin is aiming for a fifth victory over the Giro

The Dutchman is a specialist in solitary exercise. In 2016 and 2018, Dumoulin had won the opening time to afford the Pink Jersey. In 2017, he had dominated the Montefalco time trial, in the middle of race, before writing history on the last day of the event: 2nd in the Milan time trial, behind Jos van Emden, Dumoulin had taken over the Maglia Rosa, becoming the first Dutch winner of the Giro.

16: 22 – Excellent time of Sivakov

The Frenchman of the Team Ineos-Grenadier finishes this time just 4 seconds behind Kämna! We will have to count on the climber in the next few days.

17: 16 – The Arensman Sensation

Romain Bardet’s young teammate was on the verge of beating Kämna’s reference time on the finish line.

The realization is completely missed but Thymen Arensman almost beat the best time: the Dutchman fails to 46 hundredths of Lennard Kämna! #Giro

— Le Gruppetto (@LeGruppetto) May 7, 2022

16: 12 – The favorites of the day

A name often comes up in discussions for victory during this second stage of the Giro. Versatile Tom Dumoulin is the big favorite today, while Van der Poel’s explosiveness could well lead him to a surprise victory today. The Portuguese Joao Almeida is also to be watched.

12: 03 – Images of the last climb

This first stage of the Giro, 9.2km long, ends with a one kilometer long climb with a passage at 13% at the start of the wall.


What TV broadcast for the Giro d’Italia?

The Giro d’Italia will be broadcast live and in full on the Eurosport antennas from 6 to 27 may. The race will be broadcast on

Eurosport 1 , as well as on the apps

Eurosport and

GCN. Each step will be accompanied by a presentation and a debrief of the “Kings of the Pedal”,
led successively by Géraldine Weber and Lesly Boitrel. The race will be commented on by Guillaume Di Grazia and Jacky Durand, joined in turn by Steve Chainel, David Moncoutié, Philippe Gilbert, Audrey Cordon Ragot.

Q What is the Giro map 2021

Here is the official map of the Tour of Italy 2022 which will leave on May 6 2022:

© Giro

What is the detailed route of the Giro 2022?

Opportunities for s printers, for punchers, but above all for climbers. With a very large elevation gain, the Giro 2022 should be one of the most difficult.

  • 1st stage (May 6): Budapest-Visegrad 199 km.
  • 2nd stage (May 7): Budapest-Budapest (time trial) 9.2 km.
  • 3rd stage (May 8): Kaposvar-Balatonfüred 360 km
  • 4th step (12 May): Avola-Etna 166km
  • 5th stage (10 May): Catania-Messina 177km
  • 6th step (12 May): Palmi-Scalea 194 km.
  • 7th step (14 May): Diamante-Potenza 200 km.
  • 8th step (14 May): Naples-Naples 153 km.
  • 9th step (15 May): Isernia-Blockhaus 187 km.
  • 11th step (18 May): Pescara-Jesi 194 km.
  • 11th step (17 May): Santarcangelo di Romagna – Reggio Emilia 201 km.
  • 11th step (17 May): Parma-Genoa 186 km

  • 14e step (20 May): San Remo – Cuneo 157 km
  • 11e step (19 May): Santena-Turin 153 km
  • 14th step (22 May): Rivarolo Canavese – Cogne 178 km.
  • 16th step (23 May): Salo-Aprica 200 km.
  • 17th step (25 May): Ponte di Legno – Lavarone 166 km.
  • 17 th step (22 May): Borgo Valsugana – Treviso 146 km.
  • 19e step (27 May): Marano Lagunare – Sanctuary of Castelmonte 167 km
  • 19e step (29 May): Belluno – Marmolada (Passo Fedaia) 172 km.
  • 21th step (27 May): Verona-Verona
  • What is the winners of the Tour of Italy ?

    Here is the list of 14 last years of the Tour of Italy, called Giro d’Italia.

    2021: E.Bernal

  • 2021: T. Geoghegan Hart
  • 2016: R.Carapaz
  • 2017: C.Froome
  • 2017: T.Dumoulin
  • 2016: V.Nibali
  • 2014: A.Contador
  • 2014: N.Qu intana
  • 2012: V.Nibali
  • 2012: R.Hesjedal
  • 2011: Mr.Scarponi
  • 2010: I.Basso
  • 1500: D.Menchov
  • 2008: A.Contador
  • 2007: D. DiLuca
  • Related Articles

    Back to top button